VMRC Plus

June 18, 2008 at 7:07 am (Technology)

Got some spare time this week and decided to setup few VHDs and play around with Windows Server 2008 and Forefront Client Security. My stars are not shining in my favour or whatever, I am just not able to get things right with this setup.

One thing that frustrated me the most is trying to get VMRC Plus work. It is supposed to be more user friendly and feature rich client app to manage a Virtual Server environment. I don’t know how good it is to use but I can tell you that it is certainly not easy to get this tiny piece of software to work.

I wasted 2 hours trying to figure out what could be wrong, the first 30 minutes of which was wasted in understand this thing can’t work remotely. (what use is a virtual control app if it can’t work remotely? Lame!)

Anyway, I installed it locally and still it failed with weird authentication errors. One of them looked like this, “Either a required impersonation level was not provided, or the provided impersonation level is invalid.”

I’ve officially given up now. Can’t waste too much time for a fancy UI which is ridiculously difficult to setup. I am going to stick to the good old Virtual Server web administration which will do the job for me now.

Bubye, VMRC Plus. You may be a really good Virtual Machine Control app, but you must learn to “just work” first.

3 Comments

  1. Guest said,

    hey
    i m stuck at the same level..tired of searching blogs and googling around…if u get it some day..email me the steps..

  2. A Reply said,

    I found that changing COm IMpersonation level in dcomcnfg makes it work.

    Go run dcomcnfg
    In component services, go to Computerrs/My Computer, right click, properties
    IN the default properties, change the default impersonation level to impersonate
    Try again

    • Athar said,

      Thanks heaps buddy,it worked for me as well…….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

