Weekend at Chennai – Poker and more

May 15, 2007 at 1:15 pm (Personal)

Last week was pretty bad at work with things not working out the way I would’ve liked it to. Wanted to get out and forget work and Bangalore for a while – made a last minute decision and packed my bags and off to Chennai for the weekend.

The summer heat almost vaporized my spirit to go out there and have fun! But the 20 odd years I spent there before helped me to gather the residual energy! :)
Spent Saturday evening with my sister and my bro-in-law at the NewYorkers. Good place to eat and good ambience.

Called up friends to find out what’s in store for the weekend. Quickly formed a small group and planed to have a gathering at my place since my parents were not at home. Friends came home by 11pm and a couple of US returns convinced us to play poker instead of the usual “three cards” we play most of the times back in college days. Took some time to get in to the groove and by mid night we got a grip of the game. Played till ~5am and then hit off to have some coffee outside. Didn’t know what to do and went to Marina beach in the morning expecting a cool sea breeze. Bump! All we got was more of HOT … really HOT winds in the beach too! Man, whatever happened to the concept of “sea breeze” cooling the land in the night?? :)

Anyways, that is how our Saturday went. My bro-in-law came home Sunday early morning to take me back to their place at Pallavaram. Reached there and had some really nice filter coffee! Man, I love mornings and coffee with some good news to read in the papers. Coffee in Bangalore is notas good :(
Played around with my bro-in-law’s comp for some time and then dozed off for few hours. Woke up and had some specially prepared Sunday special lunch. Watched some TV with everyone else in the family. This Vijay TV Airtel super singer Junior craze had hit their home too! Man, people are crazy about this show these days… it’s good. And hey, in case you didn’t know the host of that show Chinmayi has her own blog… you wouldn’t want to read it if you don’t know her as a celebrity. Too lazy to link back to her blog, just search for it on the net. And in case you didn’t know there is an alternate search engine to Google called http://www.live.com :)

Anyways, back to the weekend story – Sunday evening was my college buddy’s wedding reception at Guindy Race Course groups. Must say you must be little crazy to host a reception in open lawn during a scorching Chennai summer. But the dinner buffet kind of compensated to everything else! Man, it was one hell of a buffet menu. Bombay chaat, Delhi chaat and Banarasi chaat… some 15/20 varieties of sweets… about 10 flavours of Baskin Robbins ice-cream… at least 10 varieties of rice and breads. Anyways, had a really lengthy and filling dinner and then had to wait for my sister and my bro-in-law to come and pick me up to go back to their place at Pallavaram. Spent the night there and back to Bangalore the next day.

Now though, back to the boring work place! :(

Things need to change a lot for me to get some interest and focus back on my work. hmm…

8 Comments

  1. R said,

    Cool!

  2. Shobz said,

    Kind of relate to what was going on :(

  3. shipin said,

    hi , i’m a poke lover too, i’m thinking of forming a group to play poker in chennai …

    plz reply me..

    • Nagarajan said,

      Hi Shipin, I am a poker player and i was also looking for players in chennai to play poker. Mail me if interested to rnagaraj17@gmail.com

      • ganesh said,

        am also interested…mail me any game on means….

  4. Sathishkumar said,

    Hi,
    This is Sathishkumar from Chennai. Willing to play Poker? Me and a group of friends like u are also waiting to play poker with others. Our search to find players is going on. Please leave a mail, if u are still willing to gamble. My email is softwaresathish@gmail.com.

  5. king akshen said,

    shipin iam a poker lover too….do u know how to play?? iam a beginner

  6. rgrg said,

    hi any one wanan play poker in chennai ping me 9176767670

Leave a Reply

